In 2005 the then ESA Directorate for Human Spaceflight, Microgravity and Exploration (D-HME) commissioned a study from the European Science Foundation's (ESF) European Space Sciences Committee (ESSC) to examine the science aspects of the Aurora Programme in preparation for the December 2005 Ministerial Conference of ESA Member States, held in Berlin. A first interim report was presented to ESA at the second stakeholders meeting on 30 and 31 May 2005. A second draft report was made available at the time of the final science stakeholders meeting on 16 September 2005 in order for ESA to use its recommendations to prepare the Executive proposal to the Ministerial Conference. The final ESSC report on that activity came a few months after the Ministerial Conference (June 2006) and attempted to capture some elements of the new situation after Berlin, and in the context of the reduction in NASA's budget that was taking place at that time; e.g., the postponement sine die of the Mars Sample Return mission. At the time of this study, ESSC made it clear to ESA that the timeline imposed prior to the Berlin Conference had not allowed for a proper consultation of the relevant science community and that this should be corrected in the near future. In response to that recommendation, ESSC was asked again in the summer of 2006 to initiate a broad consultation to define a science-driven scenario for the Aurora Programme. This exercise ran between October 2006 and May 2007. ESA provided the funding for staff support, publication costs, and costs related to meetings of a Steering Group, two meetings of a larger ad hoc group (7 and 8 December 2006 and 8 February 2007), and a final scientific workshop on 15 and 16 May 2007 in Athens. As a result of these meetings a draft report was produced and examined by the Ad Hoc Group. Following their endorsement of the report and its approval by the plenary meeting of the ESSC, the draft report was externally refereed, as is now normal practice with all ESSC-ESF reports, and amended accordingly. The Ad Hoc Group defined overarching scientific goals for Europe's exploration programme, dubbed “Emergence and co-evolution of life with its planetary environments,” focusing on those targets that can ultimately be reached by humans, i.e., Mars, the Moon, and Near Earth Objects. Mars was further recognized as the focus of that programme, with Mars sample return as the recognized primary goal; furthermore the report clearly states that Europe should position itself as a major actor in defining and leading Mars sample return missions. The report is reproduced in this article. On 26 November 2008 the Ministers of ESA Member States decided to give a high strategic priority to the robotic exploration programme of Mars by funding the enhanced ExoMars mission component, in line therefore with the recommendations from this ESSC-ESF report. Astrobiology 9, 23–41.

Get full access to this article

View all available purchase options and get full access to this article.

Information & Authors


Published In

cover image Astrobiology
Volume 9Issue Number 1January/February 2009
Pages: 23 - 41
PubMed: 19203241


Published online: 24 March 2009
Published ahead of print: 9 February 2009
Published in print: January/February 2009


Request permissions for this article.




Jean-Claude Worms
ESSC-ESF, Strasbourg, France.
Helmut Lammer
IWF/ÖAW, Graz, Austria.
Antonella Barucci
LESIA, Meudon, France.
Reta Beebe
New Mexico State University, USA.
Jean-Pierre Bibring
Jacques Blamont
Michel Blanc
École Polytechnique, France.
Roger Bonnet
ISSI, Bern, Switzerland.
John R. Brucato
Osservatorio Capodimonte, Italy.
Eric Chassefière
Angioletta Coradini
IFSI-CNR, Rome, Italy.
Ian Crawford
Pascale Ehrenfreund
University of Leiden, the Netherlands.
Heino Falcke
ASTRON, the Netherlands.
Rupert Gerzer
Monica Grady
Manuel Grande
University of Wales, UK.
Gerhard Haerendel
MPE Garching, Germany.
Gerda Horneck
Bernhard Koch
Andreï Lobanov
José J. Lopez-Moreno
IAA-CSIC, Granada, Spain.
Roberto Marco
formerly University of Madrid, Spain—deceased.
Peter Norsk
University of Copenhagen, Denmark.
Dave Rothery
Jean-Pierre Swings
ESSC-ESF, Strasbourg, France.
IAG, Liège, Belgium.
Cam Tropea
Technical University, Darmstadt, Germany.
Stephan Ulamec
Frances Westall
John Zarnecki

Metrics & Citations



Export citation

Select the format you want to export the citations of this publication.

View Options

Get Access

Access content

To read the fulltext, please use one of the options below to sign in or purchase access.

Society Access

If you are a member of a society that has access to this content please log in via your society website and then return to this publication.

Restore your content access

Enter your email address to restore your content access:

Note: This functionality works only for purchases done as a guest. If you already have an account, log in to access the content to which you are entitled.

View options


View PDF/ePub







Copy the content Link

Share on social media

Back to Top